

Ashlett Sailing Club



Minutes of the General Meetings of Ashlett Sailing Club Limited

Held on Saturday 6th November 2021 at 11am

in The Royal British Legion, Blackfield

Present: Chris Brown – Commodore, Jim Hopwood – Secretary, Sharon Geary Harwood –
Treasurer and the following members: Mike Bansback, Julie Brown, Robin Carter, Phil
Crossland, Jeff Curtis, Sue Doyle, George Fabling, John Foster, Ian Graham, Mervyn Griffiths,
Wendy Griffiths, Tom Hatch, Peter Henley-Smith, Sam Henley-Smith, Neil Howarth, John
Lavers, Simon Lovelock, Martin Lucas, David-John Morgan, Alan Morrison, Mike Mould,
Brian Oakley, Nicholas Payne, Dick Pizey, Keith Scott, Philip Shields, Robin Stevens, Andrew
Sutton, Peter Tiplady, Elizabeth Wade-Brown, Dave Waters, Tony Wood, Steven Worf, Lin
Worf, Dave Young.

Present by Zoom: Adrian Barnes, Deborah Boles, Robin Gardner, Maurice Mooney, Phil Mortimer, Steve Cox

2. **Apologies:** Mike Gillingham, Keith Guy Gibbens, Paul Rapson, Colin Wood, Pam and Ade Lumb, Andy and Anne Cooper, Aubrey and Jacky Olden, Chris and Jo Edwards, Bernie Lyford and Carole Henning, Bryan and Jean Coote, Shaun Coote, Iain Blair, Peter Howell, Tarka King, and Sue Harrap.

3. Welcome:

The Commodore welcomed the members and asked for a few moments silence in honour of colleagues who had passed away since the last meeting.

4. EGM motions:

The following motions were agreed unanimously:

- a. The Constitution be amended as follows: The ASCL Annual General Meeting of the Club shall be held on a Saturday or Sunday after December 31st, and before April 1st, the beginning of the Membership Year, preferably as early in the New Year as is convenient. In October or November.
- B. Rule 10 be amended as follows: The Annual General Meeting of the Club shall be held as early in the New Year as is convenient. in October or November.

The Secretary explained that changing the dates of the financial year was not being proposed as we are not allowed to do so within 5 years of a previous change. He thanked Richard Biggs for bringing this to his attention.

5. AGM business:

As the above were approved we proceeded with an Ordinary General Meeting to conduct the following business, documents having been circulated in advance:

- a. Minutes of the 2021 agm held in March were approved.
- b. Accounts for the year ending 31st December 2020 were noted.
- c. The Commodore referred to the Annual Report and thanked committee members for their efforts.
- a. The treasurer outlined the current state of our finances. We will have drawn down our savings this year to progress the site improvements and purchase the boat hoist but the finances remain healthy.

6. Committee Election:

There being 12 nominations for the 12 places the following were elected to serve until November 2022 without a vote:

- a. Commodore Chris Brown, Secretary Jim Hopwood, Treasurer Sharon Geary-Harwood,
- b. Committee members: Sue Doyle, George Fabling, Merv Griffiths, Keith Guy-Gibbens, Neil Howarth, John Lavers, Martin Lucas, Dick Pizey, Dave Waters
- 7. The Committee proposed to ask Peter Butt to continue as Rear Commodore.

8. Open Forum

- a. In response to a question the Commodore said Esso had now agreed to dredge the area around the pontoon. The licence requires it to be completed by September so unfortunately it is likely to occur during the sailing season.
- b. Julie Brown thanked the committee for its efforts and the site improvements greeted by applause.

The meeting closed at 11.20.